The Texas State Securities Board last week has voted to decrease registration fees for securities dealers, investment advisers and their agents and representatives, effective Sept. 1. The new fees are listed here.
The action by the Board, combined with statutory changes made by lawmakers in the recent legislative session, ensures that the registration fees paid by securities firms and professionals in Texas are now among the lowest in the nation.
Fees set by the Board for registration renewal applications for securities dealers and investment advisers were reduced from $70 to $40. Fees for original applications for agents, officers, and investment adviser representatives were reduced from $85 to $35. Fees for renewal applications for agents, officers, and investment adviser representatives were reduced from $75 to $20.
Fees for notice filers were also reduced.
In addition to the State Securities Board's action, state lawmakers eliminated a $200 professional fee that had applied to all original and renewal applications for registration.
The changes made by the State Securities Board are consistent with the requirement in the Securities Act that the Board establish fees in amounts sufficient to cover the costs of the Agency's operations.